Compare eSIMs for Burundi 2026
Compare over 270 plans from 8 providers
Which mobile networks you get in Burundi
The list is unusually short: Lumitel, operated by Viettel Burundi, is the only network named in providers’ Burundi eSIM listings. That means the operator choice is effectively made for you, with the meaningful differences between plans sitting elsewhere, such as allowances, validity and service terms. 4G is the highest technology published for these profiles; no provider has stated 5G here. Treat that as a ceiling in the paperwork rather than a promise of a particular connection throughout your trip.
Smart MobileBest stated technology: 3G
RedEx eSIM1 of 2 providers
LumitelBest stated technology: 3G
Roamless1 of 2 providers
Where your data comes out in Burundi
The listed eSIM breaks out in the United Kingdom, roughly 6,700 km away, so traffic to services in Burundi typically takes about 135 ms round trip. That extra distance adds latency rather than limiting download speed, but it means websites and apps see a UK IP address. A local banking or government app may therefore refuse access, while maps and messaging should continue to work normally. Streaming services may also switch to the UK catalogue, so the breakout location matters as much as the mobile network you connect to.
Where providers break out, nearest country first. Estimated from distance, not measured.
Providers breaking out here: RedEx eSIM (Recommended)~207 ms
Burundi eSIM prices, month by month
Data has been getting cheaper in Burundi: a gigabyte typically goes for $7.26 now, against $14.10 when we started tracking it in December 2025, a fall of 49% across 11 months.
That is well above the $2.00 a gigabyte typically costs across the 228 destinations we track. Burundi is one of the pricier places we cover, at 221 of 228 counting from the cheapest, and the gap between the best and worst plan on this page is correspondingly wide. Competition is most of the story. We now compare 278 plans for Burundi from 8 providers, against 32 in December 2025.
- $7.26
- $2.00
- Typical per GB
- $7.26down 49% since Dec 2025
- Typical per day
- $1.97
- Plans compared
- 278up 246 since Dec 2025
- Providers
- 8up 6 since Dec 2025
Change measured since December 2025, our first monthly snapshot.
Show all 11 monthsHide the monthly figures
| Month | Typical per GB | Typical per day | Plans | Providers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| October 2026 | $7.26Typical per GB | $1.97down 14% on the previous monthTypical per day | 278up 7% on the previous monthPlans | 8up 1 on the previous monthProviders |
| September 2026 | $7.28up 42% on the previous monthTypical per GB | $2.29up 110% on the previous monthTypical per day | 260up 38% on the previous monthPlans | 7up 3 on the previous monthProviders |
| August 2026 | $5.12down 40% on the previous monthTypical per GB | $1.09up 31% on the previous monthTypical per day | 188up 76% on the previous monthPlans | 4Providers |
| July 2026 | $8.53down 1% on the previous monthTypical per GB | $0.83down 13% on the previous monthTypical per day | 107down 5% on the previous monthPlans | 4up 1 on the previous monthProviders |
| June 2026 | $8.65down 37% on the previous monthTypical per GB | $0.95Typical per day | 113up 223% on the previous monthPlans | 3up 1 on the previous monthProviders |
| May 2026 | $13.73down 3% on the previous monthTypical per GB | Typical per day | 35up 3% on the previous monthPlans | 2Providers |
| April 2026 | $14.10up 19% on the previous monthTypical per GB | Typical per day | 34down 6% on the previous monthPlans | 2down 1 on the previous monthProviders |
| March 2026 | $11.89down 16% on the previous monthTypical per GB | Typical per day | 36up 9% on the previous monthPlans | 3up 1 on the previous monthProviders |
| February 2026 | $14.10down 2% on the previous monthTypical per GB | Typical per day | 33up 43% on the previous monthPlans | 2Providers |
| January 2026 | $14.45up 2% on the previous monthTypical per GB | Typical per day | 23down 28% on the previous monthPlans | 2Providers |
| December 2025 | $14.10Typical per GB | Typical per day | 32Plans | 2Providers |
Frequently Asked Questions about eSIMs for Burundi
How many travel eSIM brands (providers) are available for use in Burundi, and how many prepaid data plans are there?
Smart Mobile and Lumitel are the local networks named beneath Burundi’s travel eSIM offers, and the choice of brands is meaningful without covering the whole market. RedEx eSIM, Roamless, UBIGI, HorizonESIM and Nomad have the deepest plan ranges here, but their offers are not interchangeable: a familiar brand may have plans that are too large or too long for a short trip. Check the allowance, expiry and options if you use all your data. The fastest technology any provider states is 3G; none lists anything faster.
What are the mobile networks available for a travel eSIM in Burundi?
Smart Mobile and Lumitel are the local operators named in providers’ listings. There is a choice of network behind a Burundi travel eSIM, but the provider—not usually the buyer—determines which one the eSIM roams onto. Its network details can tell you that in advance, so compare the listed operator when choosing. The highest generation any provider has stated is 3G, a useful limit to bear in mind for data-heavy use; the listing does not establish the connection you will get in a particular location.
Are there any free data eSIM plans available for Burundi?
A zero-priced option is currently listed for Burundi, but it is a small introductory allowance rather than a usable travel plan. Access generally depends on signing up with the provider and may be limited to one claim per customer. It can be useful for getting online briefly when you arrive or checking compatibility, but regular navigation, calls and browsing will normally require a paid plan.
Are there any unlimited data eSIM plans available for Burundi?
Some Burundi eSIM plans are marked as unlimited, but the label needs careful reading in this relatively busy market. Providers differ on how much data runs at full speed and on whether that allowance refreshes each day or applies for the plan’s entire validity. Once it is used, the connection is slowed, making video and other data-heavy tasks frustrating even if messaging still works. Check those limits and the post-throttle speed before buying.
Destinations near Burundi
Crossing a border from Burundi? Compare eSIMs for the countries around it.
- Rwanda2,960 plans · 57 providers
- Uganda3,924 plans · 58 providers
- Kenya4,656 plans · 59 providers
- Malawi3,560 plans · 58 providers
- Tanzania3,928 plans · 58 providers
- South Sudan805 plans · 31 providers
- Zambia3,652 plans · 57 providers
- Democratic Republic of the Congo3,477 plans · 58 providers
- Congo2,462 plans · 55 providers
- Central African Republic1,297 plans · 46 providers
- South Africa3,854 plans · 59 providers
- Chad3,551 plans · 57 providers
eSIM Providers for Burundi
Lumitel is the settled network across Burundi’s eSIM market: the stated network choice is the same whichever tile you choose. With only a small shortlist of sellers, the meaningful differences sit in each plan’s data allowance and in what follows after it is used up, rather than in signal reach. Check the out-of-data terms before buying, especially if your trip involves navigation, messaging or other regular mobile use.
6 providers sell eSIMs for Burundi. Open one for its prices, its full plan list and the networks it puts you on here.

Telcomia
Networks not stated
$6.84from$12.86per GB18plans
RedEx eSIM
Best stated technology: 3GNetworks in Burundi: Smart Mobile
$35.63from$21.82per GB134plans
Nomad
Networks not stated
$19.00from$17.00per GB2plans
HorizonESIM
Networks not stated
$12.20from$12.07per GB3plans
Roamless
Best stated technology: 3GNetworks in Burundi: Lumitel
$10.95from$12.97per GB21plans
UBIGI
Networks not stated
$7.00from$7.62per GB17plans